How to keep the lid on weed legalization in California
A lot of California’s marijuana laws are now on hold, with some going into effect Friday as the state prepares to go into effect its recreational marijuana law.
However, there are some things you can do to keep an eye on how your state’s marijuana policies are evolving.
Know the rules of the road in your stateA state like California, which legalized recreational marijuana in January 2018, has a strict set of rules governing how the state’s pot businesses can operate.
There’s no open market to buy or sell cannabis, no storefronts, and the state is strictly limited in how much it can spend to advertise and market its products.
This is a strict system and a lot of people don’t understand how to navigate it, says Ethan Nadelmann, executive director of the Marijuana Policy Project.
You don’t want to be like the Colorado and Oregon that made their way through that mess and then didn’t make any progress.
But you need to be careful because that’s exactly what’s happening in California, Nadelman says.
Be prepared for some volatilityIf you’re buying cannabis online or from a dispensary, you might be surprised how much the prices are going to fluctuate during the next couple of weeks.
The average retail price for recreational marijuana across the country is now $420 per gram, which is a 25 percent jump from the last time the state legalized recreational pot in 2020, according to a recent survey by the University of Southern California.
In California, there’s a lot going on right now, so you’re going to have to take a wait-and-see approach.
The prices will fluctuate in the next week, Nederhoff says.
Know your taxesAs with any legal industry, you need a good taxonomy of your business and what you are selling, Naderhoff says, and make sure you understand all of your taxes.
If you’re looking to start a dispensary in California and you have an existing medical marijuana business, for example, you’ll need to know what your sales tax rate is, he says.
Also, keep a copy of your sales and use taxes and your use tax bill.
Nadelhoff says you can always get a copy from your state, and he recommends using Google to find out your taxes and taxes history.
Be sure to pay your bills and take your medicationThere are a few things you need the state to pay before you can legally sell cannabis in California.
These include taxes, sales tax, excise taxes, and all the other state and local taxes that go along with a business, like sales taxes and parking fees.
But in some cases, you can pay the taxes in cash, Nidelhoff says — as long as you do it on your own time.
If there are people in your house who are making marijuana sales, and you need some extra cash, use that money to pay for your medication.
Use the Internet for all your business dealingsIn the months leading up to the recreational legalization law in 2020 and 2020, there were a lot more dispensaries in California than there are now, Nadeem says.
You might have seen some people buying weed online and then buying their own supply at a dispensary.
These people are the same people who were in California before, but now they’re not allowed to sell weed at dispensaries, Nayerhoff says (that’s also true of online dispensaries).
The same goes for online vendors who were previously allowed to use the Internet to sell marijuana, but they have to have a storefront.
These online shops also need to have an online presence and to set up a sales office, so they’ll have to be more organized and have employees who are licensed to sell.
The best thing to do, Nelsonhoff says to avoid this is to make sure your business has a physical storefront in your area.
“Don’t get caught up in the idea of a storefront,” Nadelnick says.
Instead, focus on establishing a brick-and.-mortar presence, Nasser says.
And make sure that your employees have training on the use of electronic commerce, Namerhoff says: “You can’t expect people to know how to use an ATM.”
Get a loanIf you are interested in getting a loan to buy marijuana in California from an investor or someone who has already invested in a cannabis business, you have a few options.
The first is a state-run loan program, which allows anyone to buy weed online.
The loans are paid back in the form of cash and typically take around a year to repay.
The second option is to get a state license to sell cannabis.
California allows licensed businesses to grow up to six marijuana plants at any one time.
The third option is for you to get your own cultivation license, which requires an additional $10,000.
Nader, however, says you should consider these three options if you’re in a state where you can get a